top of page

4 YEARS WITH FOREST

ABOUT THIS POST...

 

On September 5th, 2013, Forest and I "officially" started dating. This coming Tuesday marks 4 years together. This will be our last "date-i-verssary" because next year we will have a wedding anniversary! WAHOO! Anyways, this post is about how we met, the first kiss, and our relationship over the past 4 years. Thanks for reading

HOW WE MET...

 

Forest and I went to different high schools and the chances of us meeting and dating were slim, but when a group of friends I went to middle school with invited me to the pool, I was feeling frustrated with my current group of friends and decided it wouldn't hurt..... I am so glad I went, because that is where I met Forest. We met in the summer between Junior and Senior year of high school, and when we met, Forest liked a friend of mine. I secretly had a little crush on Forest, but of course, being my shy self, I wasn't going to say anything. When that friend started dating someone else a few weeks later, I decided it was time to break out of my shell and stop being so shy and I snapchatted Forest. Anxiously waiting for him to respond, I thought about how awkward I was and thought about how silly Forest would think I was. Then, he responded!! After hours of talking, Forest asked me what I was doing and I told him I was watching a movie. (Yes this was over 4 years ago, but I about died when he responded so of course, I remember what he said) I got a response and opened the snapchat, he said, "wish I was watching a movie with you". Seriously guys, I was dying. I snapchatted him back and said, "that would be fun" and he responded with, "we should go to a movie when I get back into town."

THE FIRST KISS...

 

When Forest got back into town, we went and saw a movie with some friends. We went and saw the Conjuring. I sat next to Forest and half way through the movie, he put his arm around me, and of course I pretended to be scared. I was clearly so excited! After the movie, we went a few places with friends and then, Forest's friend asked if I could take Forest home because he didn't have time before curfew. So of course, I drove him home. When we got to his house, I said goodbye and he asked if he could give me a hug outside of the car, I got out of the car and not only did I get a hug, but he kissed me!!! At this point, it was midnight and I had to be at drill practice at 5am, but I was way too excited to sleep.

So, that is the story of our last, first kiss!

FINISHING HIGH SCHOOL AND I LOVE YOU...

 

Forest and I dated our entire senior year which was super fun. I got to go to Olympus dances, games, and other events and he got to attend Brighton's. He even got to attend some awesome drill competitions (14 hour long competitions). He is such a good sport.

Finishing high school with Forest made things easier. He helped me with my math homework and hanging out with him was something to look forward to.

As the months went on, Forest and I became very close, we talked on the phone for hours and spent all our free time together. Forest was/is my best friend, but he is more than that, which I started realizing after a few short months of dating. I went to him with all my problems, success, frustrations, tears, joy, and everything else, and the best part was, he was there for me every step of the way.

On Christmas eve, Forest told me that he loved me. I had dated other people in the past, but nothing had been anywhere near the relationship I had with Forest. Of course, we were only in high school, and you get a lot of crap for being in love at 17 years old, but I knew that I wanted to be with Forest and knew that he was so right for me.

COLLEGE...

 

College is a rough time. Though we aren't quite done, we are pretty dang close. college has been a crazy adventure filled with good times and bad times, but those times have made Forest and I better as both individuals and as couples.

College has definitely been a time for growing. Forest and I have both found a career choice that we love and have really grown as individuals. We feel confident in ourselves and feel confident in each other. We have been through it all, and all I can say is, I am lucky he was by my side the whole time. I am lucky that I got to drive to my first day of college with him and will graduate with him this May. I am so grateful for our experience at the University of Utah, but am feeling excited to move forward to new and exciting things.

PROPOSAL...

 

In case you didn't know, Forest and I got engaged on April 23rd, 2017. I posted the story on the blog if you want to read it.

Thank you for reading and here are a few more of our engagement pictures.

bottom of page