top of page

WHAT IS A MITT WIFE?

I am sure you are all asking what in the world is a mitt wife. Well this is the post that will tell all! Forest and I have been dating for a long time, and we never really liked calling each other the typical pet names like "babe" or "Sweetie" so we started calling each other "homie" which evolved into "home". For a year or two we called each other "home" and one day, Forest randomly said to me, "you fit in this spot like a that mitt car from the commercial!" I had absolutely no idea what he was talking about so he pulled up the commercial for the Kia Sorento (www.ispot.tv/ad/7wMM/2014-kia-sorento-parking-spot-like-a-glove-song-by-bobby-day). Now the commercial actually says that it fits like a glove, but Forest had been calling it the "mitt car". From that day on, he started calling me Mitt and our whole lives became "The Mitt Lives". It seems silly, but I love calling Forest my Mitt, I think it is unique and fun and no one else goes around calling their significant other Mitt. As for the wife part..... As I am sure you all assumed, Forest and I are getting married!!! After almost 4 years of dating I am sooo ready to marry him. As I explained above, our pet name for each other is Mitt, so it makes sense that I would be called "the mitt wife", but wait.... there's more. Here's the story..... I knew that the time was coming, Forest would soon be proposing to me and I was anxiously awaiting that moment. I was getting my nails done, wearing above average outfits, trying to look better in general, to make sure that I looked good when he proposed to me. Forest's mom had invited my family and my grandparents over for dinner on April 23rd, and I assumed that it was going to be an engagement party, but Forest and his family assured me that it was a celebration for my birthday (which was in March), because our families couldn't find a time to meet before then. Forest and I are heading to Thailand the first week of May, and as the weeks went on, I started thinking that Forest was waiting until after our trip to propose to me and that I had totally read this family dinner wrong. Maybe it actually is for my birthday, I thought. On Sunday, April 23rd, I woke up and had no intentions of getting engaged. I showered, put a little makeup on, brushed my hair, put an average outfit on, and walked out the door. When I got to Forest's house, things seemed extremely normal. Around 2:30pm Forest's oldest brother, Kohl, said he had to run to the University to grab something for an art project (keep in mind, this is not an uncommon occurrence). When he left he took his Fiancee, Paige and his youngest brother, Kirk with him and said they were going to stop and get coffee. Of course, this seemed normal so I didn't think anything of it. Forest and I started putting the final touches on our Thailand trip and were writing important information down, when his mom started yelling for Kohl. Of course, Kohl wasn't home. Stacee (Forest's mom) is an actor so she played this whole thing off like it was no big deal. When we informed her that Kohl wasn't here, she told us that she was so so sorry to do this because she knew we were busy, but she had food on the stove that she couldn't leave and this lady from KSL is selling her light fixtures and she said she will meet someone at the Salt Lake County Building across from the SLC library on her way back to Logan. We said we would be willing to go get them and went on our way. We were almost downtown when Stacee texted us and told us the KSL lady was running late and she might be 15-20 minutes. Frustrated because my parents were meeting at the Riekhof household at 5pm, I wanted to go wait in the parking lot at the county building. Forest insisted that we check out the library with our spare time. I kept disagreeing with him, telling him that I didn't want to carry light fixtures across the street, but he really wanted to go and assured me that the light fixtures were very small and easy to carry. So, much to my dismay, we head to the library and Forest starts reminiscing about Senior prom because it was held at the SLC library. After getting distracted by a used book sale on the first floor, I was hesitant to go up to the roof like Forest wanted, because I didn't think we would have enough time. (I obviously had no clue what was going on). We get into the glass elevators and ride all the way to the roof. Forest starts grabbing my left hand and pulling me to his right side (because he didn't want me to see the giant ring box in his pocket) and we start walking up the roof. Still unsure of what was going on, We make it to the top and I see rose petals (P.S. my heart is beating a million miles a second as I write this because it makes me so happy). When I saw the rose petals, I thought to myself that the roof of the SLC library was a romantic place to propose, then we continued walking and there were 3 candles (none of them lit) and I thought how weird that someone would leave that set up, that's when I realized that the wind had blown out the candles and that Forest was proposing to me. Of course, I started shaking and smiling because this was so perfect. Forest got down on one knee and said, "will you be my Mitt Wife for the rest of my Mitt Life??" In that moment the Mitt Wife was born. I was jumping for joy I was so happy, not to mention the fact that the ring he picked out was PERFECT!!! Forest thought out every ounce of this proposal. He even came up with his own little saying. All I can say is that I can't wait to be a Mitt Wife for the rest of my Mitt Life!! We then got back to Forest's house and spent the night being celebrated by our families. April 23rd was the best day of my life!!! Now off to Thailand with my Fiance!

bottom of page